| 3r

Anmerkung Carl Sigismund Kunth (am linken Rand) Ab. Anmerkung des Empfängers (am oberen Rand) Nepaul. Aufgeklebte Notiz des Empfängers (am linken Rand)

| 2r

Géogr. des plantesHimalaya. Une Campanula avec des graines mûres
dans le Himalaya 16800 piés anglth. en
Octobre à milieu  Fahrenheit: Temperaturmaß, 27 Fahrenheit entsprechen -2,78 °C27° F[.] Arbustes plus haut
encore. Colebrook Journ de Roy. Inst n 20 472 . | 2v leer (1 Seite)[...]
Aufgeklebte Notiz des Empfängers (am rechten Rand)

| 1r

Nepaul Wallich Anmerkung des Autors (am rechten Rand) MSPurple coned Cedar or Pinus Webbii
(Pinus excelsa Wallich[)] gleich P.
strobus (fol. quinis triquetris
margine scabris, strobilis cylin
draceis squarrosis demum pen
dulis foliisque longioribus,
antherarum crista ovato-
crenata-fimbriata, obtusa.
Strobili 6 pollic –1 pedalAnmerkung des Autors (am rechten Rand) MS
affin. Pin Massoniano [sic]
 innerhalb der ZeileVallée de Nepaul, extrem. orientale
nom Deola-thonri)[.]
Pinus WebbiiAnmerkung des Autors (am linken Rand) ⎡ehemals
auch genannt
P. tinctoria
et  innerhalb der Zeileou P.
 über der ZeileWall fol. solitariis planis
subtus argenteo-glaucis strobi
lis ovatis. Nepaul. nom:
Oomur, Khaittasee et
Tassee Doop. affinis P. piceae
et balsameae.Anmerkung des Autors (am rechten Rand) MS
Pinus laevis Wallich fol. tetragonis
strobilis erectis oblongis nitidis
affin. P. abies [sic]. nom Raga.
Taxus macrophylla Anmerkung des Autors (am unteren Rand) Lignum Emanum Rumph
hort Amb. III 47. tab 26
 unter der ZeileWall (sonst Myrica nerii
.[)] nom Goonsee.  unter der ZeileGoonsee.

Quercus Dundwa Singhali
| 1v sur l’himalaya dit
Wallich[,] des Primula, Ané
mones, Gerania, Rhodo-
dendrons, Valérianes[.]
26. Lower Grosvenor Street London

Novr 14. 1820.

My Dear Sir

It is impossible to express the gratification –
which  Vgl. Humboldt an Lambert, Paris, 17. August 1820 (Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, A. B. Lambert Correspondence).

your highly interesting & learned Letter
afforded me; as
their [sic] is no man I am so proud of hearing from as yourself and
when ever you will do me the honour of writing to me, it will
prove the highest gratification I can experience.

I should have wrote you long before
this, but having been at my Country Residence till within
these few weeks, and having since my arrival in Town experienced
a severe attack of fever, occassioned [sic] by catching cold, has prevented
me from having that pleasure.

Many thanks for your observation on
the Aracacha, but it came to [sic] late for insertion in my  Lambert 1821.


published in the last number of the journal of Arts & Sciences
of the Royal Institution . you will see by that, I have ventured
to give some account of the Native Country of the Potatoe [sic],
Solanum tuberosum. whether the materials from which I have
drawn my conclusions from [sic] be sufficiently decisive I leave you to
judge. | 3vAnd  Don Francisco Zea, companion and friend of the celebrated Mutis, who long resided in South America, assured me, when he was in this country, that he had often found [Solanum tuberosum] wild in the forests of Santa Fé de Bogota, observing at the same time, that the reason why Baron de Humboldt had not found it when he was in that country, was, because, he had not time to examine those places where it grew.“ (Lambert 1821, 26).

I trust I have not erred in making mention of your name on
the authority of Don Zea
who I see very often, and who dined with me
with a large party last week, among whom was our Friend Professor
, just arrived from the Country and whose company was
rendered particularly aggreable [sic] as he gave us a great deal of information
about you. We all hope that you will never think of leaving Europe
again, as your life is too precious to Science for to run the risk of
losing it. Sir Humphrey Davy , has just been sitting with me: who
tells me he is just about writing to you. I am happy to say he is
to be our New President of the Royal Society , and shall most
heartily next week go to give him my vote. I am very sorry that
any misunderstanding should take place between my Friend, Sir
and the Illustrious Cuvier , respecting the
zoological collections sent home by my Friend from whom I had
a letter last week, and I trust that every thing will be adjusted
to the satisfaction of both parties in a short time. He writes
me word that they have found plenty of the large, singular
flower, and that he is soon to send me a drawing of it. We are
to have a highly interesting  Brown 1821.

on it from Mr. R. Brown in the
next vol. of Linnean Transactions, with 8. plates which are already
finished. I am endeavouring to learn all I can from Mr Zea, about
the Cinchonae; I have got your two papers on the bark Forests
translated into English, and which  Lambert 1821a. Vgl. Humboldt 1807.

I am about to print soon
. now
posses[s]ing very fine Specimens of all the species figured in Flora
| 4rPeruviana , with many entirely new species; from these resources
I shall be enabled to clear up innumerable doubts & errors which
still pervade the history of this very interesting Genus. Cinchona
of Fl. Peruv. is perfectly distinct from every other species: your
C. condaminea and C. angustifolia Anmerkung des Empfängers (am linken Rand) ⎡non[,] C.

est C. lanci
figured in the Suppl. of Ruiz
are the same. I posses [sic] many specimens of your
plant in its various stages of growth.
Anmerkung des Empfängers (am linken Rand) Kunth
a remis
C. ovalifolia
Bonpl. à
C. ovalif.
de Linné
qui diffèrent
p 2
p. 22[.]

My drawings of the Pines
from the Himalaya Mountains , Nepal , are nearly finished
and [I] will publish them as soon as possible of the 3 species from
Nepal. The 1. belongs to the section Abies, and must be placed near
Pinus picea & balsamea, Although perfectly distinct from either. The
second belongs to the section Larix a very distinct species from
the Neighbourhood of Almora. The 3rd belongs to the section
Pinus, named by me & Dr Wallich, Pinus excelsa, akin to Pinus
but with characters widely different as you will hereafter
see. The Species mentioned by Thunberg in Flora Japonica , I
have no doubt will all prove very different from those
of Europe & N. America. his P. strobus . [sic] may possibly be the
same with my P. excelsa, and his P. Larix , the same with
mine from Almora, as their [sic] are many plants common to
both countries in Nepal. I have here sent you some of Dr.
Letters to me relating to Nepal, which I hope will afford
some pleasure, and which I will be obliged by returning to me
at your leisure when an opportunity offers. When are [we] to see  Humboldts „Carte générale de Colombia“ erschien 1825 mit der fünften Lieferung als Planche 22 von Humboldt 1814–1834 (vgl. Fiedler/Leitner 2000, 162).

| 4vMap of New Granada
.  Der fünfte Band von Humboldt 1814–1829 erschien 1821. Vgl. Fiedler/Leitner 2000, 104.

I am anxiously waiting for the 5. volume
of your Personal Narrative
, which I understand from Messrs.
Longman & Co. is to be published here about christmas. Poor
Author of the Flora Americae Septentr. is no more. His widow
has just arrived from Canada , with a very extensive collection of
specimens of plants from that Country which is now in my possession.
had he lived it was his intention to publish a Flora of Canada, for
which he had collected ample materials. I beg you will present
my kindest respects to Mr Kunth. Is their [sic] any hopes of of [sic] seeing
you & him in this Country soon.  über der Zeilesince writing the above I have just received a very
long and interesting Letter from my friend Professor DeCandolle
who mentions that the 2d vol. of his Systema Veget. will be
out in a Month from the date of his Letter, 26 oct.

Yours very Sincerely Alymer Bourke Lambert.

P. S. I was extremely sorry, at not having the pleasure of seeing
your Friend Dr. Caspar, who I beg you will give my compliments
to. I have just had a very splendid Mexican plant which
has flowered in my Hothouse, it is nearly allied to Bromelia
of Swartz, at least of the same genus with it, very
different from Bromelia. the flowers are white edged with crimson
in large panicles. The floral  über der Zeilestem leaves from 2 to 3 feet long of a beautiful


Ab – Aylmer Bourke Lambert an Alexander von Humboldt. London, 14. November 1820, hg. v. Ulrich Päßler unter Mitarbeit von Ingo Schwarz. In: edition humboldt digital, hg. v. Ottmar Ette. Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften, Berlin. Version 6 vom 13.10.2020. URL: https://edition-humboldt.de/v6/H0014540


 Dieses Dokument als TEI-XML herunterladen

Kanonische URLDieser Link führt stets auf die aktuelle Version.



Dieses Dokument liegt auch in älteren Versionen der edition humboldt digital vor. Die Versionen, die eine Änderung gegenüber der jeweiligen Vorgängerversion beinhalten, sind mit einem Punkt gekennzeichnet.